Downloads

THE ASKLEPIOS APPROACH: PATIENT LIFE CYCLE VALUE Back

1 The illness symptoms

Fourteen-year-old Larissa has been complaining of headaches for some time. Examinations by the ophthalmologist and the ENT specialist reveal do not indicate that anything is amiss. One possible cause, according to the doctors, could be the onset of puberty and an associated growth spurt. However, when regular back pain starts to occur after frequent standing or long school days, Larissa’s mother Claudia becomes concerned. Using the samedi app, Claudia arranges an appointment with an orthopaedic specialist for Larissa quickly and easily.
Digital applications such as samedi are at the heart of the Asklepios growth strategy. The digital extension of the value-added chain has been successfully initiated thanks to these types of services and is gaining momentum. Asklepios is also pressing ahead with greater vertical integration across the entire patient treatment cycle: patient-friendly provision of medical services using the samedi app, the digital hospital using the technologically leading hospital information system M-KIS and optimum aftercare provided as part of discharge management using the Care Bridge platform solution.

2 The specialist search

The orthopaedic specialist examines Larissa thoroughly and diagnoses mild early-stage scoliosis. Scoliosis refers to a three-dimensional lateral deviation of the spinal column. In this case, the vertebrae rotate about their own axis, which can quickly lead to back pain when people are standing or seated for long periods. The growth spurts that occur particularly during puberty can exacerbate scoliosis. Nevertheless, the orthopaedic specialist is confident that Larissa’s condition can be successfully treated at her age. He recommends four weeks of rehabilitation at a specialized hospital, to which Larissa and her mother agree. But how to find a suitable hospital? The orthopaedic specialist takes out his tablet and opens the samedi app. The doctor now navigates a list of colleagues and, by selecting the appropriate filters, soon finds suitable experts to treat his patient. There is a wide selection of hospitals from which to choose because there is a network of Asklepios hospitals that offer specialist treatment of scoliosis. Finally, they decide on the Asklepios Katharina-Schroth-Klinik in Bad Sobernheim, which has impressed all three of them. That is because Larissa can receive intensive scoliosis treatment there that is unavailable elsewhere in the world. The pension insurance scheme quickly approves the application for the facility in Rhineland-Pfalz.

3 Care in the Asklepios hospital

A couple of days before the start of the stay, Claudia is astonished to find that Larissa is unexpectedly looking forward to the weeks she will spend in hospital. She tells her mother that she has already found all the information about her arrival date via the Instagram channel “asklepiosklinikbadsobernheim”. While reading the FAQs, Larissa paid particular attention to the advice to get to know new people quickly. On arrival at the hospital, Larissa’s details concerning her treatment are recorded by a friendly nurse who is originally from the Philippines, as she explains. As it happens, Larissa makes two new friends on her very first day. Like her, the two girls also have scoliosis. During the days that follow, Larissa enjoys the variety of individual and group sessions. The physiotherapy based on Katharina Schroth’s principles, the occupational therapy, the individual therapy as well as the exercise pools are completely new experiences for her. She is also required to keep up with her school work during the four-week stay. With the classes for patients designed to bridge the gap, the young students need not worry about falling behind her normal school work at home. With her new friends, Larissa often finds it difficult to decide whether they should spend their free time in the craft room, playing beach volleyball or swimming. Larissa had been worried beforehand about having to wear a corset. However, the experts here made certain that the corset specially designed by Sanomed Orthopädietechnik was a perfect fit. Naturally, wearing it is not particularly comfortable, but nobody in the hospital is left to suffer on their own. The fact that the young people can share their experiences contributes to their acceptance of the corset and the therapy.
The expertise at Asklepios is not only reflected by the Sanomed orthopaedic technology in Bad Sobernheim – this strategy of excellence is put into practice by our workforce of approximately 47,000 employees across all locations. After all, the sustainable growth trajectory at Asklepios is founded on a strong organisation with proven implementation strength and operational excellence. To safeguard the performance of our hospitals in the long term, for example, Asklepios also recruits and qualifies specialist staff from other countries such as the Philippines. Together, we ensure that our patients will also receive the best possible care in the future.
With regard to the scoliosis, the doctors identified several areas of muscular weakness resulting from the lateral displacement and rotation of the individual sections of the torso.

4 Discharging and aftercare

The time spent in Bad Sobernheim passes more quickly than expected for the fourteen-year-old. Larissa talks about the individual patient exercises and explains what she must now pay particular attention to in her everyday life. The Time4Schroth app – a physiotherapy app developed specially by the hospital in Bad Sobernheim – provides Larissa with helpful support when it comes to doing the exercises at home. The programme of regular training will halt the long-term effects of the scoliosis.
In addition, Larissa will now also attend regular physiotherapy sessions. Asklepios trains outpatient physiotherapists in the treatment methods of Katharina Schroth and therefore operates a nationwide network for the provision of post-discharge further care. Naturally, the choice of physiotherapist is up to Larissa and her mother, who are provided with all relevant information.

Next year, Larissa may have to return to Bad Sobernheim for a couple of weeks. However, this is of no concern to Larissa since she is now very familiar with the set-up there. Of course, Claudia is proud of her daughter, who is coping so well with her scoliosis. The mother is grateful that Larissa was in such good hands at the Asklepios Katharina-Schroth-Klinik in Bad Sobernheim – and that all procedures and appointments were arranged so smoothly.
Asklepios will continue to work hard to deliver ultra-modern medical care to its patients before, during and after a hospital stay. The Care-Bridge platform developed by Asklepios to provide continued support after an in-patient spell in hospital will be further established in the healthcare facilities. For this purpose, we want to collaborate even more closely with other stakeholders in the healthcare sector – for the benefit of patients. Back

Downloads

Asklepios-Ansatz: Patient life cycle value Back

1 Die Krankheitssymptome

Die vierzehnjährige Larissa klagt seit längerer Zeit über Kopfschmerzen. Untersuchungen beim Augen- und beim HNO-Arzt bleiben ohne Befund. Mögliche Ursache, so heißt es, könnte die beginnende Pubertät und das schnelle Wachstum sein. Als auch noch regelmäßige Rückenschmerzen nach häufigem Stehen oder langen Schultagen hinzukommen, beginnt sich Larissas Mutter Claudia Sorgen zu machen. Über die App samedi kann Claudia problemlos und schnell einen Termin bei einem Orthopäden für Larissa vereinbaren.
Digitale Anwendungen wie samedi stellen einen zentralen Baustein in der Wachstumsstrategie von Asklepios dar. Die digitale Verlängerung der Wertschöpfungskette ist dank solcher Angebote erfolgreich gestartet und gewinnt zunehmend an Dynamik. Asklepios forciert zusätzlich die vertikale Vertiefung über den gesamten Behandlungszyklus des Patienten: patientenfreundliche Vermittlung von medizinischen Leistungen mit der App samedi, das digitale Krankenhaus mit dem technologisch führenden Krankenhausinformationssystem M-KIS und die optimale Nachsorge im Entlass-Management mit der Plattformlösung Care-Bridge.

2 Die Facharzt-Suche

Der Orthopäde untersucht Larissa gründlich und stellt eine leichte Skoliose im frühen Stadium fest. Unter Skoliose versteht man eine dreidimensionale Seitabweichung der Wirbelsäule. Die Wirbel verdrehen sich dabei um ihre eigene Achse, was bei langem Stehen oder Sitzen früh zu Rückenschmerzen führen kann. Durch Wachstumsschübe insbesondere während der Pubertät kann sich die Skoliose verschlimmern. Der Orthopäde zeigt sich dennoch zuversichtlich: Larissas Erkrankung kann in ihrem Alter gut behandelt werden. Er empfiehlt eine vierwöchige Rehabilitation in einer spezialisierten Klinik, der Larissa und ihre Mutter zustimmen. Doch wie eine Klinik finden, die geeignet ist? Der Orthopäde holt sein Tablet heraus und öffnet die App samedi. Nun navigiert der Arzt durch eine Liste von Kollegen und findet durch die Auswahl geeigneter Filter schnell passende Experten für die Behandlung seiner Patientin. Bei der Wahl der Klinik ist die Auswahl groß, denn ein Netzwerk von Asklepios Kliniken bietet schwerpunktmäßig die Behandlung von Skoliose an. Schließlich treffen sie eine Entscheidung: Die Asklepios Katharina-Schroth-Klinik Bad Sobernheim überzeugt alle drei. Denn hier kann Larissa eine weltweit einzigartige Skoliose-Intensiv-Behandlung bekommen. Von der Rentenversicherung wird der Antrag für die Einrichtung in Rheinland-Pfalz zeitnah genehmigt.

3 Die Betreuung in der Asklepios Klinik

Ein paar Tage vor Beginn des Aufenthalts ist Claudia erstaunt: Larissa scheint sich wider Erwarten auf die Wochen in der Klinik zu freuen. Sie erzählt ihrer Mutter, dass sie über den Instagram-Kanal „asklepiosklinikbadsobernheim“ bereits alle Informationen für ihren Anreisetag erfahren hat. Bei den Klinik-FAQs hat Larissa sich besonders den Tipp zu Herzen genommen, schnell neue Leute kennenzulernen. In der Klinik angekommen, werden Larissas pflegerisch relevante Daten von einer netten Pflegerin aufgenommen, die – wie sie erzählt – ursprünglich von den Philippinen stammt. Tatsächlich findet Larissa bereits an ihrem ersten Tag zwei neue Freundinnen. Die beiden Mädchen haben ebenso wie sie eine Skoliose. In den kommenden Tagen gefällt Larissa die Abwechslung zwischen Einzel- und Gruppenstunden. Die Physiotherapie nach Katharina Schroth, die Ergotherapie, die Einzeltherapie und die Bewegungsbäder sind für sie ganz neue Erfahrungen. Auch die Schule darf während des vierwöchigen Aufenthalts nicht zu kurz kommen. Mit dem Überbrückungsunterricht für Patienten brauchen sich die Jugendlichen keine Sorgen machen, den Anschluss an die Lerninhalte zu Hause zu verlieren. Mit ihren neuen Freundinnen kann sich Larissa oft nicht entscheiden, ob sie ihre Freizeit im Bastelraum, mit Beachvolleyball oder Schwimmen verbringen wollen. Vor dem Tragen eines Korsetts hatte Larissa im Vorfeld Angst. Doch hier sind Profis am Werk – das speziell angefertigte Korsett der Sanomed Orthopädietechnik sitzt perfekt. Das Tragen ist natürlich nicht angenehm, doch in der Klinik leidet keiner allein. Der Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen den Jugendlichen trägt zur Akzeptanz des Korsetts und der Therapie bei.
Die Expertise von Asklepios zeigt sich nicht nur bei der Sanomed Orthopädietechnik in Bad Sobernheim – die Exzellenzstrategie wird von unseren rund 49.000 Mitarbeitern an allen Standorten gelebt. Denn das Fundament für den nachhaltigen Wachstumskurs von Asklepios ist eine starke Organisation mit nachgewiesener Umsetzungsstärke und operativer Exzellenz. Um die Leistungsfähigkeit unserer Häuser langfristig sicherzustellen, rekrutiert und qualifiziert Asklepios beispielsweise auch Fachkräfte aus anderen Ländern wie den Philippinen. Gemeinsam stellen wir sicher, dass unsere Patienten auch in Zukunft bestmöglich versorgt werden.
Bei der Skoliose findet man einige muskulär schwache Stellen, die sich infolge der Seitverschiebungen und Verdrehungen der einzelnen Rumpfabschnitte ergeben haben.

4 Die Entlassung und Nachsorge

Die Zeit in Bad Sobernheim verging für die Vierzehnjährige schneller als erwartet. Larissa berichtet von den patienten-individuellen Übungen und erklärt, worauf sie im Alltag nun besonders achten soll. Mit der App Time4Schroth – einer eigenen physiotherapeutischen App der Klinik in Bad Sobernheim – hat Larissa noch eine hilfreiche Unterstützung für die Übungen zu Hause. Durch das regelmäßige Training werden Langzeitfolgen der Skoliose aufgehalten.
Zusätzlich wird Larissa nun regelmäßig zur Physiotherapie gehen. Asklepios bildet ambulante Physiotherapeuten in der Behandlungs­methode nach Katharina Schroth aus und verfügt damit über ein bundesweites Netzwerk zur nachstationären Weiterbetreuung. Die Wahl des Physiotherapeuten liegt natürlich bei Larissa und ihrer Mutter, die hierfür alle therapierelevanten Informationen erhalten.

Im nächsten Jahr muss Larissa vielleicht noch einmal für ein paar Wochen nach Bad Sobernheim. Doch das ist für Larissa kein Problem, denn sie kennt sich ja mittlerweile bestens dort aus. Natürlich ist Claudia stolz auf ihre Tochter, die so gut mit ihrer Skoliose zurechtkommt. Die Mutter ist sehr dankbar, dass Larissa in der Asklepios Katharina-Schroth-Klinik Bad Sobernheim gut aufgehoben war – und dass alle Prozesse und Terminvereinbarungen so reibungslos abgelaufen sind.
Auch in Zukunft wird Asklepios mit Nachdruck daran arbeiten, hochmoderne medizinische Versorgung vor, während und nach dem Klinikaufenthalt für seine Patienten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die von Asklepios entwickelte Plattform Care-Bridge zur weiterführenden Betreuung nach einem stationären Aufenthalt wird in den Gesundheitseinrichtungen weiter etabliert. Dafür wollen wir noch enger mit anderen Akteuren des Gesundheitswesens zusammenarbeiten – zum Wohle der Patienten. Back